Smile Because It Happened?

 

Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.

These wise words were spoken by the beloved Dr. Seuss. Given that these past few weeks have been full of high school and college graduations across the country, there is no better time to post this quote.

I wasn’t teary-eyed at my high school graduation 2 years ago. Mostly it’s because I didn’t like a lot of the students wasn’t close to many classmates, plus I knew I could always see them on Facebook.

But then I deactivated my Facebook account halfway through college, and it’s safe to say I have pretty much lost all contact with my high school pals, sad as it is. I have some of their phone numbers saved, so I suppose I can text/call them. In our generation though, it’s just awkward to call up someone you haven’t spoken for in a while. At least with Instant Messaging or email, you give the other person plenty of time to think of a response.

So basically, my only options besides the Internet are: texting and letter writing.

Letter writing? With actual envelopes and stamps?!

 

For the last four weeks, I was a participant in an undergraduate program in another state. There were about 60 people in the program, and naturally I bonded with a few of them. Somehow, even though we’ve only known each other for those 4 weeks, we feel as if we’ve known each other for a year.

When the program was over, everyone called out the same things: “Keep in touch!” “Message me on Facebook!” “Reunion in one year!”

As an idealist optimist, I tend to see sparkles and silver linings. I wanted to believe I will see these people again, that a reunion at Disney World will occur, and most importantly, we will never forget each other.

Unfortunately, that just isn’t realistic.

For the next few months, sure, the memories will still be fresh, and everyone will be keeping in touch via Facebook, texts, IMs, etc. Fast forward to a year from now? That’s another story.

As my dad (a very analytical person) and another participant at the program (a very logic-oriented person) both told me:

People say they’ll keep in touch, but sooner or later it’s unlikely you’ll cross paths again, especially since everyone lives so far apart.

 

Moral of the story? Seize the day and enjoy the present. And if you are one of the lucky few who can hold onto a strong bond with a friend even after 5-10 years of being apart, many kudos to you.

 

Leave a Reply

