Fairly Platonic, Mate

Some people claim that it’s impossible for a female and male to have a strictly platonic friendship, unless one (or both) only digs people of the same gender.

In addition, the term ‘friend zone’ has been steadily trending on the Internet. According to an article in the Chicago Tribune,

When a guy agrees to be friends, he’s forced to stifle his attraction while regularly seeing and talking to the woman he’s attracted to. She discusses her love life and has the audacity to ask his advice on it. He performs occasional “manly” household and automotive favors for the women. Essentially, he does everything a boyfriend would do – without the benefits.’

 

So, what’s my take on the whole situation? I’m not too sure, but I often wonder how life would be like if humans were incapable of emotions whatsoever. That invisible realm of flimsy things attached to your heartstrings, pulling the trigger on tears and euphoria? Complicated much?

Just kidding.

No, seriously though: At first glance I thought, That’s ridiculous. A girl can have guy friends and vice versa. 

The idea is to not get emotionally attached to a friend. “But my best friend is so hot/awesome/cute though, what do I do?” 

The trick is to think back to your childhood days. Remember those days we all played freeze tag on the playground? And boys and girls both had cooties? (Okay, maybe not that last part.) But we all remember those innocent days where boys and girls could play together under the tree without emotions getting in the way.

Friends, to put it simply, are people we like to hang out with. Not every friendship needs to be as close as that of Scooby and Shaggy. And not every friendship needs to develop into something ‘deeper.’

But alas, how do we control our emotions when we do fall for a friend? Such was the case back in 8th grade, unfortunately. A guy in my extended friend circle admitted he had a crush on me. Since I felt completely indifferent towards the guy at the time, I tried in vain to think where I had gone wrong. Did I lead him on? No, I acted the same way around other guy friends with whom I had perfectly platonic friendships. Was it because I was always too nice? No, I distinctively remember arguing with him about useless stuff.

In the end, I realized it was out of my control. Internet mongers nowadays would sympathize with him, saying he was “unfairly put in the friend zone.” But we should recognize that we will meet many people in life and make a fair amount of friends. Each new friend can’t be our future husband or wife.

Oftentimes we are so focused in our own little bubbles that we forget the vast amount of people out there, and the things we have yet to discover. We limit ourselves by planting ourselves in so-called “friend zones.” Our futures are not limited to our current circle of friends. 

It’s healthy to have a good balance of friends from both genders. Variety is the spice of life, after all. Not only do males and females generally have different senses of humor, but they also have different perspectives on many subjects.

 

Leave a Reply

