Accepting: Office Hours

I guess I ought to give out some more college advice. One important role to a good college career is attending Office Hours.

Each professor has office hours in which he or she allocates time during the day just for you. (Well, for you and your classmates.) You can ask the professor to go over some material you didn’t understand, talk about related events (easier for the Economics classes), or just catch up on your day (Warning: only for extroverted people who have no problem striking up casual conversation with a 20-40 year age gap). Depending on how close the next midterm is, Office Hours can either be completely empty or overcrowded.

A lot of students avoid Office Hours. I don’t blame them; that’s more or less what I did back in my first year. I mean, hey, you’ve just graduated high school, you’re set on your way to independence, and when your professor says, “Come to my Office Hours if you need more help with the assignment!” you really don’t care.

One-on-one tutoring? you think. Psh. Please dude, give me some credit.

Thus, I was fairly surprised when I found out that most of the brightest classmates regularly attended Office Hours. You might have thought that asking your professor to reiterate something makes you seem mundane, but in the end, it’s the midterms and final that determines your grade, not your spoken questions. Besides, it’s always good to clarify basic concepts, even if you think you have everything down flat.

Also, your professor will remember your face/name more, depending on the size of your class.

And finally, some professors have a glass bowl of candy in their offices. If this isn’t a good incentive, then what is?

One thought on “Accepting: Office Hours”

  1. I don’t even know the way I stopped up right here, but I thought this put up was once great. I don’t recognize who you might be but certainly you are going to a famous blogger in the event you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

