Monster Drinks and Soda Sphinx

Why are people addicted to energy drinks?

Responses vary from “They taste good” to “They keep me up” to “What else is there to drink, duh?

I had my first full 12 oz of Monster Energy Drink today. I have to say it takes like a mixture of ginger ale, rubbing alcohol, and sour vinegar–with a fruity aftertaste.

The caffeine amount shocked me as well. Well, at least the can was nice enough to put a warning: Consume responsibly. Limit 4 cans per day. Not recommended for children, pregnant women, or people sensitive to caffeine.

Yeah, okay, I should probably warn some of my high school friends (who drink over 5 cans a day).

I never liked coffee. I never liked Coca Cola much either, unless it’s the only beverage available (which never happened in my household; my mom once chucked out an entire 2 liters of Mountain Dew and gave Dad an earful of how “sugar is bad”). I don’t blame people for enjoying caffeine carbonated drinks, though. They’re sweet, they smell good, and they keep you awake for studying. What’s not to like?

 

As someone on a health website stated,

Caffeine is a powerful drug, and just because it is legal doesn’t make it more likely you are immune to it.  Too much of anything can kill you, even water. When you get older, that high tolerance for caffeine could easily turn the other way. I’ve experienced that myself.

Some people who drink lots of caffeine daily experience migraines and headaches when they suddenly stop the daily dosage. Getting addicted to coffee and Energy drinks cannot be healthy.

So, what should you do before you reach for that fourth cup of coffee?

Drink decaf. Go for a run (exercise increases your adrenaline way better than coffee ever can, plus it makes you fit). Or, you know, go to sleep? (If you’re trying to stay past 1 am studying, that’s nature’s way of telling you to drag your bottom to bed.)

3 thoughts on “Monster Drinks and Soda Sphinx”

  1. What you don’t like the taste of rubbing alcohol and sour vinegar in your drinks? What’s wrong with you? Kidding. Yeah I’m not a fan of these either. But even more so, they’re not cheap. Especially if you drink multiple a day. I don’t get it.

  2. “What else is there to drink, duh?” reminds me of the idiotic question I get when someone finds out I don’t watch cable or satellite tv. “No tv? What do you do?” The world is full of ’em…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

