Accepting: Religious Spam, Lines, and Guilt Trips

How many of you have seen that chain letter that goes,

Amazingly, whether you believe or not, you’re never alone. Did you know that 98 percent of teenagers will not stand up for God, and 93 percent of the people that read this won’t repost it?

If you believe in Jesus Christ put this on your profile and don’t just ignore this because in the Bible it says if you deny me, I will deny you in front of my father in the gates of heaven.

I have just one thing to say: First of all, how is refusing to spam the Internet with your made-up statistics “denying God”? Second of all, who the frappuccino gave you the authority to make this annoying (albeit clever) chain mail?

Unfortunately, religion has largely become propaganda these days. 

I have a couple of friends who are starting a Christian Outreach program on campus. They’re pretty zealous, especially for freshmen. Every email they send include:

  • a blurb about how much they had dedicated their time this past week praying for this, so you better thank them
  • a reminder that we are servants of God, so you have no excuse to “be busy”
  • two sentences about how much they love God, so you better not hate them for spamming
I hate being a Negative Nancy, but these people aren’t exactly perfect angels. (Refer to a previous post.) One of them is incredibly narrow-minded, the other is incredibly self-centered. Oh, and one of them loves to flaunt just how much of a “good Christian” she is. (But of course, as good citizens, we do not point out their hypocritical flaws.)
These people always manage to guilt-trip me somehow. This is why I’ve tactfully avoided their emails. And oh, the dinners with them…how I wish I could stuff my mouth full of meatloaf so I wouldn’t have to speak a word.

You’ve heard of Mike Tebow and Jeremy Lin. Both are Christians, and they’re spreading the word through their own talents and ways. We don’t all have to join the campus bible club or get peer pressured to do a service we don’t like. The most important thing is to put  the skills we were blessed with to good use.

So, back to those outreach enthusiasts: I’m sorry I like spending my days in the music practice rooms and writing instead of knocking door-to-door around campus. It’s not that I don’t love God (thanks for subtly hinting that, by the way). I know I can probably make a difference, but I’m going to use my own method of doing it.

Oh, and please stop posting bible verses constantly on your Facebook statuses, then squealing, “Oh my gosh, I have 5 likes!”
One thought on “Accepting: Religious Spam, Lines, and Guilt Trips”

Leave a Reply

