Accepting: Hard to Get or Getting Too Hard?

Girls, we’ve all been there: you like a guy, but he doesn’t like you back. Instead, shockingly, he seems to fall for this other girl who is nothing but cruel to him.

You know, that sassy girl who plays hard-to-get. Or thinks he’s a dork. Yes, seriously.

You’re confused. You ask yourself, “Wait, I thought being nice gets you places in this world!” Apparently all is not fair in love and war.

Introducing: “Just the Girl” by Click Five. (Despite the frustrating lyrics, the song is actually quite catchy.)

(Commentary by Yours Truly)

She’s cool and she’s cruel
But she knows what she’s doing.

So here we have the typical “cool cruel girl.” Imagine a Hollywood-cliche teen with Dior sunglasses and an attitude.

She pushed me in the pool
At our last school reunion.

Dude, she pushed you in the pool. Okay, okay, maybe it was just a joke. Let’s read further.

She laughs at my dreams
But I dream about her laughter.

Well, now we know she’s not just a hooligan who likes pushing others into pools. Nope, the girl is one sassy… bee.

Strange as it seems 
She’s the one I’m after.

No comment.

Because she’s bittersweet,
She knocks me off of my feet,
And I can’t help myself
I don’t want anyone else.

You would rather take this mean girl over that equally pretty but friendly girl over there? Okay.


She’s a mystery,
She’s too much for me,
But I keep comin’ back for more.
She’s just the girl I’m lookin’ for
.

She can’t keep a secret
For more than an hour.

Yeah, that’s definitely a good quality.

 

 
She runs on 100 proof attitude power.
And the more she ignores me
The more I adore her.
What can I do?
I’d do anything for her.

I’ll tell you what you can do. But I don’t think it is very nice.

And when she sees it’s me
On her caller ID,
She won’t pick up the phone.
She’d rather be alone,
But I can’t give up just yet
Because every word she’s ever said
Is still ringin’ in my head,
Still ringin’ in my head.

Okay, by this point, I don’t know which side to be on, because 1) it seems you’re just annoying her by this point, and 2) she doesn’t seem interested. 

She’s cold and she’s cruel
But she knows what she’s doing.
Knows just what to say
So my whole day is ruined.

… and yet you still like her. Okay, I’m going to go study Biology now. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

