Books I Better Read Before This Time Next Year

Dude, it’s not even New Year’s yet. Why are you making resolutions already?

 

Yeah, that’s what you’re asking me incredulously. My response: classics. Classic books that the majority of people have read at some point in their lives (mostly high school), or have heard them referenced 103 times.

These books are at the top of my to-read list as soon as I go on winter break. (Don’t believe the people who say you will have time for leisure reading in college– you won’t.)

  1. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. Title from Shakespeare’s The Tempest, the line where Miranda naively marvels at the wonderful new world she’s about to embark on. Ironically, she has no idea the other characters are nothing but greedy, evil swindlers.
  2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Okay, we get it. You love Mr. Darcy. I don’t know what this is about. Save the details.
  3. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. A popular book among teenagers in the olden days. Bring back the classics.
  4. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. One day out of pure curiosity, I decided to SparkNote the summary of the book. It was definitely very interesting.
  5. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller. A popular phrase used to describe lose-lose situations.
Wish me luck as I embark on this literary journey. Oh, brave new world!
One thought on “Books I Better Read Before This Time Next Year”

Leave a Reply

