Choosing a Surfboard –I Mean Browser

A self-proclaimed computer geek, I have used several different browsers. I remember when I was a computer noob (definition: a newbie) and only used Internet Explorer to surf the web. Ick!

Okay, Internet Explorer has its good points. And bad.

So does every other browser. (And there aren’t that many.)

So, let me share a few pointers.

Internet Explorer

  • Comes with PCs. Must install separately on Macintosh computers.
  • Speed performance: 6/10. Lags frequently.
  • Compatible with essentially every website, since Internet Explorer boasts itself as one of the oldest browsers around
Mozilla Firefox
  • Add-Ons are a dream come true. There are so many tools you can use to enhance your web browsing experience.
  • The NO-SCRIPT ADD-ON. Prevents hijackers from rerouting your page. Best tool ever.
  • Speed performance: 8.4/10. Occasional lags.
Google Chrome
  • Speed performance: 9.7/10. So far, no lags experienced with this browser.
  • The Inspect Element button (right-click a page) is a beautiful thing for developers.
  • Easy, simple layout and navigation.
Safari
  • I’m sorry, but Macs just confuse me in general, so this browser is complicated for a PC user like me.
  • Speed performance: 8.6/10
  • Every time I used it, anything I clicked came up on a new window. So by the end of the night, I ended up with 9 pages around my screen. Please, spare yourself the headache and go here to learn how to enable tabs.
Opera
  • Extremely similar to Google Chrome
  • Speed performance: 9/10
  • Fairly easy to use and navigate
I’m pretty sure I missed Netscape and other (ahem) rarely used browsers out there. But in case you wanted to join the trend, these 5 are in the lead.
Leave a Reply

